MPs and officials who caused trouble for Boris Johnson knighted

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Conservative Julian Lewis, chairman of the Intelligence and Security Committee, and Labour’s Chris Bryant, chairman of the Commons Standards Committee, are knighted.

And ex-permanent secretary at the Treasury Sir Tom Scholar – sacked by Liz Truss on her first day as PM amid impatience at orthodox economic thinking – is made a Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath.

Sir Julian confounded Mr Johnson’s plans to install former transport secretary Chris Grayling as ISC chair when he secured the backing of Opposition members to get elected instead.

He was punished by having the Tory whip withdrawn, although later restored.

Sir Chris was chairman of the Standards Committee when it recommended that Tory Owen Paterson should be suspended from the Commons for 30 days for breaking the rules on paid lobbying by MPs.

Mr Johnson’s botched attempt rewrite the House’s disciplinary procedures to get the finding overturned infuriated Tory MPs.

Sir Chris, also a fierce critic of the former PM over lockdown parties, said he was “very shocked” when he learned he was to be knighted, describing it as an honour for the committee.

Our ambassadors to Ukraine and Russia, Melinda Simmons and Deborah Bronnert, become dames.

COP26 president Alok Sharma is knighted, while ex-minister Andrew Stephenson receives a CBE.

Source: Read Full Article